Election Commission bans Exit Polls

The Election Commission (EC) has restricted exit polls from February 18 to 27 in view of the Assembly elections in Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya.

Tripura will go to polls on February 18 and both Meghalaya and Nagaland will vote on February 27.
The commission notified that any exit poll and publishing or publicising, through print or electronic media, or dissemination in any other manner of the result of any exit poll will be prohibited from 7am on February 18 to 4.30 pm on February 27.

It was further clarified that under Section 126 (1) (b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter, including results of opinion polls or other poll surveys in any electronic media will be prohibited during the 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of polls in each of the phases of the general elections. (Agencies)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *