In Pictures: Neiphiu Rio Sworn-in As Nagaland Chief Minister

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was on Thursday sworn in as the chief minister of Nagaland, reported news agency ANI.

The attendees at the oath-taking ceremony in Kohima included defence minister Niramala Sitharaman, minister of state (home) Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah, BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav, Manipur CM N Biren Singh, Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu, Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had expressed his inability to attend the event, a source in the Raj Bhavan had told PTI yesterday.

The venue – Kohima Local Ground – is significant as this was where then-President Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan made the announcement of Nagaland’s statehood on December 1, 1963.

Before this, swearing-in ceremonies in the state have been organised at the Darbar Hall of Raj Bhavan, reported PTI.

Rio has served as the state’s CM three times before this, between 2003 and 2014.

Video of Swearing-in Ceremony:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *