NPF to contest from 58 seats; leaves 2 seats for BJP

Nagaland is in election mode now with the ruling alliance of Naga People’s Front (NPF) and BJP deciding to contest the assembly poll on February 27.

NPF said it would announce its list of candidates for 58 of the 60 seats on Friday.

“BJP has requested us to leave the two seats of Northern Angami 2 and Tizit. So, we will contest from 58 seats,” NPF spokesman Sebastian Zumvu said.

This means that NPF has decided not to contest from Tizit A/C where BJP’s Paiwang Konyak is the sitting MLA. NPF candidate will also not contest from Northern Angami 2 where BJP president Visasolie Lhounghu will be pitted against Neiphiu Rio or his son-il-law Dr Neiphrezo Keditsu.

The above seat arrangement was confirmed by BJP’s election management co-convener Mmhonlumo Kikon. Intrestingly Kikon will have to fight against NPF’s Achumbemo Kikon in 40 A/C Bhandari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *